How to permanently delete your WhatsApp account

WhatsApp today is a worldwide communication phenomenon. With over 1 billion active users, the chat application is the first choice for almost everyone to exchange text, video or audio messages. Although this app can make you feel connected all the time, everything comes at a price. If the app is invading your privacy and taking away your peace of mind, deleting WhatsApp may be a little extreme, but extreme may be necessary.

How to permanently delete your WhatsApp account

The easy access to the chat application and its wide grip also made it a bit annoying. Along with free and unsolicited calls, continuous incoming messages, and even family groups can sometimes irritate. This can all be somewhat invasive.

Uninstalling the application will not resolve. Just delete the WhatsApp icon from your smartphone. All your messages will still reach the WhatsApp servers, and as soon as you reinstall the application, they will be there. In addition, you will still be part of all these groups and chats.

For people who rarely use WhatsApp, it’s common to not want to use it from now on. And if you’re wondering if you can permanently delete your account and data, the answer to that question is a resounding “yes.”

In this tutorial, we will walk you step by step through the WhatsApp account deletion process, let you know what will happen to your data after that, and teach you how to reactivate your account and restore your chats and media if you regret it.

What happens when WhatsApp is permanently deleted?

When you delete your WhatsApp account, the following actions occur:

  • Your phone number is no longer associated with WhatsApp
  • Your account is removed from your friends’ WhatsApp favorite lists.
  • Your account is excluded from all WhatsApp groups
  • Your WhatsApp chats and media are deleted in the app
  • Your service payment information is removed from WhatsApp servers

Keep in mind that you can always reactivate your account by re-registering your mobile number, or some other number, with the service, but you should consider creating a backup of the chats and the media first.

How to back up WhatsApp

If you think you might want to go back to WhatsApp sometime in the future, be sure to create a full backup of your chat history and media. To do this, go to  Settings → Conversations → Backup before deleting your account.

You can enable backups to occur automatically by tapping  Backup and choosing your backup frequency. WhatsApp backups on the iPhone are saved to iCloud or iTunes, or Android Drive as part of the full backup of the device.

You can restore from a WhatsApp backup unless you re-enable the service on the same phone number. You will not be able to restore your chat history from a registered WhatsApp account with a different phone number.

How to permanently delete your WhatsApp account

If for some reason you decide to delete your WhatsApp account forever, here’s what you should do. There is a way to delete WhatsApp.

1. Go to Settings> Account> Delete my account> Enter your phone number where WhatsApp is registered and tap delete my account. WhatsApp will ask how they can improve. Answering this is optional. Tap  Next and you’re done. Your WhatsApp account has been deleted now.

Now, to sign in again, you’ll have to create a new WhatsApp account.

How to re-enable deleted WhatsApp account

If you have regrets and need or want to go back to WhatsApp, follow the steps below:

Step 1:  Download WhatsApp on your  Android or iPhone ;

Step 2:  Follow the on-screen instructions to register your phone number in the service. You will receive a six-digit verification code via SMS to activate your account.

How to restore my chats and media from WhatsApp backup

After confirming your phone number, follow the on-screen instructions to restore your chat history. The phone number used for backup and restore must be the same. In other words, you can not restore the chat history of another WhatsApp account.

If you’ve already backed up your iPhone, restoring your device from a backup will also recover your chats in WhatsApp and media.

If you need help, have doubts or concerns, do not hesitate to leave a comment in the comment box below and we will try to help you as soon as possible!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *